Production

Practised sustainability

Wood origin

At Sudbrock, the word “sustainability” is the daily practice rather than just the advertising buzzword of the day. We only use timber from certified sustainable forestries. The wood varieties beech, maple, ash, cherry and oak are obtained from native forests, and bear the PEFC seal as the confirmation of origin.Managing director Johannes Sudbrock selects every single tree trunk himself in order to be sure of obtaining first-class veneers. Quality and structure must meet the highest standards. Because every tree offers the veneer its particular structure, which then has to show the furniture at its very best.

Environmentally-friendly finishes

In our production department, we use environmentally-friendly, solvent-free hydro UV lacquers that provide excellent finishes. Almost all of our coloured lacquers are solvent-free hydro UV lacquers. We use UV clear lacquer on our veneered furniture. The clear lacquer finish is applied in up to five layers, with each layer sanded before the next one is applied. This results in an excellent depth effect.

Hydro UV lacquer means warm air draws the moisture out of the fresh lacquer. It is hardened with UV light.

We first started observing the VOC directive (volatile organic compounds), the reduction plan to limit emissions of volatile organic compounds, in 2008.

Saving resources

We use all resources carefully. From the tree trunk to the tiniest wood chip, we use one hundred percent of the raw material wood. There is even a use for wood waste from the production department. They are used as fuel for the new heating plant, and turned into valuable heat energy. The company uses this heat in the production process, and in winter to heat the production halls and offices. We are convinced that practised sustainability is not only good for the environment, but also ensures that the users’ joy in their new furniture continues for a long time – and with a clear conscience

100% Made in Germany

In-house production

Our specialists give us a depth of in-house production that is really special. From the purchase of wood to the individual production processes and final assembly, we manage and manufacture everything in Rietberg-Bokel. We source metal components such as hinges and fittings from suppliers that have the same high quality standards as we do.

Veneer competence

For over 90 years, we have been “passionate about wood”. This passion is evident above all in the special wood competence that we have developed together with our workforce over three generations. One special division is the manufacture of elegant veneer patterns. Beautiful, continuous grain patterns across several front elements create the unique appearance of the furniture. Skilled craftsmanship and precision are also required when veneers are book-matched. The results are impressive mirror images: every one a one-off from nature’s treasure chest.

Sensuous and expressive: real wood veneers. Thanks to our particular veneer competence, we are able to produce wonderful designs on our furniture.

Produktion

Praktizierte Nachhaltigkeit

Holzherkunft

Der Begriff „Nachhaltigkeit“ ist für Sudbrock kein werbewirksames Schlagwort, sondern tägliche Praxis. So werden für die Herstellung Hölzer aus zertifizierter nachhaltiger Forstwirtschaft verwendet. Die Holzarten Buche, Ahorn, Esche, Kirsche und Eiche stammen aus heimischen Wäldern und tragen das PEFC-Siegel als Herkunftsnachweis. Um erstklassige Furniere zu erhalten, wählt Geschäftsführer Johannes Sudbrock jeden Stamm selbst aus. Qualität und Struktur müssen den hohen Ansprüchen genügen. Denn jeder Baum gibt dem Furnier seine individuelle Struktur vor, die das Möbel optimal zur Geltung bringen muss.

Umweltfreundliche Oberflächen

In der Produktion setzen wir umweltfreundliche, lösungsmittelfreie Hydro-UV-Wasserlacke ein, die exzellente Oberflächen schaffen. Lösemittelfreier Hydro-UV-Wasserlack wird für fast alle farbigen Lackierungen angewendet. UV-Klarlack nutzen wir für alle furnierten Möbel. Die Klarlack-Oberfläche wird in bis zu fünf Gängen mit entsprechendem Zwischenschliff aufgetragen. Dadurch entsteht eine exzellente Tiefenwirkung.

Hydro-UV-Lack bedeutet, dass dem frischen Lack unter Einwirkung von Warmluft das Wasser entzogen wird. Er wird mit UV-Licht gehärtet.

Wir halten die VOC-Richtlinie (Volatile-Organic-Compounds), d. h. den Reduzierungsplan zur Begrenzung von Emissionen flüchtiger organischer Verbindungen, bereits seit 2008 ein.

Ressourcen schonen

Ressourcen werden grundsätzlich sparsam verwendet. Vom Stamm bis zum kleinsten Holzspan: Wir nutzten den Rohstoff Holz zu hundert Prozent. Selbst Holzabfälle aus der Produktion finden ihre Verwendung. Sie dienen dem neuen Heizkraftwerk als Energielieferanten und werden in wertvolle Wärmeenergie umgewandelt. Diese Wärme setzt das Unternehmen für den Produktionsprozess ein und heizt mit ihr im Winter die Betriebshallen und Büros. Wir sind davon überzeugt: Praktizierte Nachhaltigkeit schont nicht nur die Umwelt, sondern sorgt auch dafür, dass die Freude am Möbel – mit gutem Gewissen – lange anhält.

100% Made in Germany

Fertigungstiefe

Dank unserer vielen Spezialisten arbeiten wir in einer besonderen Fertigungstiefe. Vom Rundholzeinkauf über die einzelnen Produktionsschritte bis zur Endmontage fertigen wir alles in unserem Werk in Rietberg-Bokel. Metallprodukte wie z.B. Scharniere und Beschläge beziehen wir von ausgesuchten Herstellern, die den gleichen hohen Qualitätsanspruch haben wie wir.

Furnierkompetenz

Seit über 90 Jahren stehen wir für „Leidenschaft Holz“. Diese Leidenschaft zeigt sich vor allem in der besonderen Holzkompetenz, die wir gemeinsam mit unseren Mitarbeitern über drei Generationen hinweg erarbeitet haben. Ein Spezialgebiet ist die Herstellung von edlen Furnierbildern. Schöne durchgehende Maserungsbilder – über mehrere Frontelemente hinweg – verleihen den Möbeln ihre einzigartige Optik. Handwerkliche Präzision ist ebenfalls gefordert, wenn Furniere „gestürzt“ werden. Das Ergebnis sind ausdrucksvolle Spiegelbilder: Unikate aus der Schatztruhe der Natur.

Sinnlich und Ausdrucksstark: Echtholzfurnier. Dank unserer besonderen Furnierkompetenz gelingen bildschöne Inszenierungen am Möbel.